Orchestras from the European Broadcasting Union

A Part of the WFMT Orchestra Series

The WFMT Radio Network is pleased to present Orchestras from the European Broadcasting Union, with performances from the London Philharmonic, BBC Symphony, BBC Scottish Symphony, the Frankfurt Radio Symphony, Danish National Symphony, Luxembourg Philharmonic, Vienna Radio Symphony, Odessa Philharmonic, Bavarian Radio Symphony, Bergen Philharmonic, Berlin Radio Symphony, NHK Symphony Tokyo, and the Philadelphia Orchestra. Conductors include Vladmir Jurowski, Simon Rattle, Alpesh Chauhan, Thomas Dausgaard, Ariane Matiakh, Alain Altinoglu, Marta Gardolińska, Dima Slobodeniouk, Marin Alsop, Hobart Earle, Marie Jacquot, John Storgårds, Petr Popelka, Marek Janowski, and Yannick Nézet-Séguin.

Each broadcast includes select music from commercial recordings to complement the concerts and ensure that each program is the appropriate length.

This exceptional series of concerts from the European Broadcasting Union begins with Vladmir Jurowski conducting the London Philharmonic Orchestra in a program featuring Elgar’s Violin Concerto in B minor with Julia Fischer, Ukrainian composer Valentyn Silvestrov’s Lullaby from ‘Melodies of the Moments’, and Enescu’s Symphony No. 2. Other highlights of the series include:

  • Simon Rattle conducts the London Symphony Orchestra in a sumptuous program featuring Nicole Cabell in Dvořák’s American Suite, with Walker’s Lilacs, Montsalvatge’s Canción de cuna para dormir un negrito, and closing with Schumann’s second symphony (22-02);
  • Thomas Dausgard takes the podium with the BBC Scottish Symphony for a concert of Nielsen and Mozart. The program includes Nielsen’s first and fourth symphonies, bookending Mozart’s Clarinet Concerto in A with Jörg Widmann (22-04);
  • The Frankfurt Radio Symphony presents a concert of Mediterranean-influenced works with Alain Altinoglu and violinist Renaud Capuçon. Selections include works by Ravel, Chabrier, Ibert, and Massenet’s always-popular Méditation, from ‘Thaïs’ (22-06);
  • Hobart Earle leads the Odessa Philharmonic Orchestra in a concert of works by Ukrainian composers, including Lysenko’s Elegy and Karamanov’s third Piano Concerto with Tamara Stefanovich. Closing out the program is Sibelius’s Symphony No. 2 in D (22-10);
  • Closing the suite of concerts from the EBU is Yannick Nézet-Séguin conducting the Philadelphia Orchestra in a concert featuring Dvořák’s Carnival Overture and Florence Price’s Symphony No. 1 in E minor (22-15);
  • … and many more fantastic performances! See the complete listings for all details.



Category: Orchestras
Duration: 2-hour / 1:58:30
Frequency: 13-part
Availability: 12/20/2022 - 03/28/2023

PRX Subscribe



  • Host: George Preston
  • Producers: Greg Broderick & Rebecca Nystedt